Morning Pages Realizations…


I will start this category as a regular post ~ others may most likely become pages to be turned from the sidebar. We will see.

I’ve been battling a severe, yet underlying bout of depression. I took a picture of myself in the summer and altered it. I wanted it to swirl ~ but this is what resulted, more of a kaleidoscope view of this portrait.

the original portrait ~

the original portrait ~

  transformed into this portrait of my depression:

How my depression feels...

How my depression feels...

I realized this morning that the Morning Pages are infact a purging blog. Emotions, self-defamations, thoughts and statements ~ and whatever form they take ~ that require airing out and the light of day. Bringing these thoughts outside of ourselves makes many of our fears and concerns smaller, their actual size, rather than the mammouth monsters we make them in our heads.

We, as creative individuals, need to recognize what is inside of us ~ what needs removal and what stops or blocks what God created us to be. The thoughts and defamations that stop us from creating the things God created us to create.

The things God created us to create are vital things, they must come into being. They must be created for us and for others. Your [my] portrait, painting, book, poem, whatever ~ most possibly is the thing that will pave the way to one’s or another’s salvation. One of the ‘Basic Principals’  # 6 says:

” The refusal to be creative is self-will and is counter to our true nature.”

Our true nature is that of Christ ~ and refusal to be creative is self-will is actually sin.

Later when this particular counseling tool is collecting dust on my bookshelf, these morning pages will most likely remain, a tool to journal and remove and to move forward into what I will create for God and for me, and hopefully for you.

In my One Day at a Time Prayer book I found for today’s date:

” God is the essence of our being.”

This affirmation is reiterated in different words in the ‘Basic Principals’ of the Artist’s Way, # 10. Which was recently my affirmation for the week. So I guess God is keeping me on a path here.

From the same page and date of the One Day at a Time: marked  Psalm:

Lord, You have been our dwelling place in all generations.

the entire Psalm:

Psalm 90

A Prayer of Moses the man of God.

 1 Lord, You have been our dwelling place in all generations.
 2 Before the mountains were brought forth,
         Or ever You had formed the earth and the world,
         Even from everlasting to everlasting, You are God.
         
 3 You turn man to destruction,
         And say, “Return, O children of men.”

So this is my realization and it confirms that this Artist’s Way process is successful. It is my realization that the Morning Pages are vital to us as artists and children of God.

So for those of you following the Artist’s Way and are resisting the Morning Pages ~ battle through ~ they will reveal their usefulness to you. For those of you who do not use this recovery tool ~ journal ~ get the ugly out in the light, get it out. Don’t look back at them, don’t share them ~ what you look at and what you share will be what you create, the beauty left behind when the ugly is gone!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

