How do I feel today?


I feel blah. My dreams last night were unpleasantly strange. Yet, just unpleasant.

My devotional this morning was titled; THE INITIATIVE AGAINST DEPRESSION, Oswald Chambers obviously.

I would not say I am depressed, just blah, like I said. I recall this exact devotion from last year, somewhere on one of these blogs was what I gleened from it last time! This might be interesting. I found this 1939 copy of My Utmost for His Highest, at a thrift shop, apparently this week, last year! Cool aye? I remember this one really reaching in and giving revelation.

And this morning it alerted me to my blahs! It woke me to not allow the blahs to take root…because they will invite their cousin depression to visit for an extended holiday!

In 1 Kings 19 Elijah has been running for his life. Jezebel had threatened to kill him. That is what a Jezebel does though. Elijah had run into the wilderness and sat down to pray for death! Jezebel has so infiltrated his life that he wished for the very thing he was running from!

1 Kings 19:4

but he went on a day’s journey into the wilderness. He sat under a broom tree and prayed that he might die. He said’ “I have had enough! LORD, take my life, for I am no better than my fathers.”

Elijah layed down to sleep and was woken up by an angel’s touch.

1Kings 19:5c

“Get up and eat.”

Then he looked up and there was food and drink provided for him. He ate and drank and slept again.

The angel returned 1Kings 19:7

” Get up and eat, or the journey will be too much for you.”

This year it says to me what I believe God has been saying to me for months now…”Focus on Me, not you!”

If I continue to run, looking at all of things that are wrong with me, my personal Jezebels, I will not be sustained for the rest of this journey.

My personal Jezebels are: Depression, Abandonment, Low self-esteem (which oddly comes out as bravado, I think more highly of myself. But feel lowly.???). All of these Jezebels are from a non-existant childhood, abuse and neglect and then my own poor choices.

I believe that God is speaking to the entire body of Christ, who are on the threshold of a great revival of Spirit, to arise and eat! Prepare for the LORD your God. Prepare a way for Him to come to you!

Arise and renew yourself in body and mind. With the food and fruit of the Word, as well as natural food. If we consistently see to the health of our Mind and Body, the Spirit will sustain both.

I, we, will become weary if we do not look to God for the answers. And as Chambers states in the devotional:

“If we do things in order to overcome the depression, we deepen the depression; but if the Spirit of God makes us feel intuitively that must do a thing and we do it, the depression is gone. Immediately we arise and obey, we enter on a higher plane of life.”

I know what God is telling me to do with my blahs! And here I am in my bible and devotional…Looking UP of my help. What is God telling you to do this fine morning?

Blessings!

One thought on “How do I feel today?

  1. Pingback: Depression… « hopeannfaith’s well…

Leave a Reply

